#1 Christophe Collette

Christophe Collette
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 177 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Montreal, Canada

Posted 01 October 2006 - 09:00 PM

Hi everyone, I am totally new to this forum, I am a young photographer from Montreal, I will be directing the photography for a music video next tuesday, this is not my first video but I am still unfamiliar with the flicker thing as I did not study cinematography. The video takes place in an hotel room, looks a lot like the Richard Ashcroft "song for the lovers" video, (), in terms of lighting, just a little less moody. Lighting is a mix of Fresnels 300-650-1k, Open face 2K, kino flo 4x4 and 2x4 and practicals (up to 4 in the frame at times) and a window gelled with 1/2 CTO. I think everything is 60HZ in the room, I am quite worried about safe speed for all this. The director wants to shoot part of video at 18fps, which I believe is not a safe speed at all shutter angles and shutter speeds. I would rather not touch the shutter, am a bit too green for this! Should I suggest shooting at 20FPS, or 15FPS? Is 24 FPS a safe speed also? I do not want to mess this up and it is quite hard to do any tests prior to shooting, I will go along with my ass. cam tomorrow to try to run some test alongside his but I don't think I'll get to view it prior to tuesday. I'd like an insight from the pros! I am shooting on the Arri Sr3. 500T Vision2 and transferring on either Quadra or Spirit. Also, should I worry a lot about the practicals, I intend in putting a 25W lightbulb, maybe painting one side black or taping it, the lamps are not bare bulbs, I will never see a bulb really but I don't want to kill all details over around the lamps. I do not have access to dimmers for the practicals.

All suggestions are greatly appreciated, Sorry for this long post!! Thank you very very much!

Christophe Collette
www.christophecollette.com

#2 TJ Williams

TJ Williams
  • Guests

Posted 01 October 2006 - 11:04 PM