#1 Sean McHenry

Sean McHenry
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Other
  • Hilliard, Ohio

Posted 28 October 2006 - 10:15 PM

OK, I have a Canon 814XLs and it seems as the motor is slipping, or a belt or something. It is slipping and not able to pull film through the cart without stopping down after about 5 seconds or so at 18fps. 24 and 9 seem to fare better.

Has anyone ever opened an 814 XLS before to get to these components? Anyone want to tutor me on opening the case on one of these puppies? I am geussing it needs lubrication and a new belt if it uses one or a new or reconditioned rubber idler arm, whatever it uses for drive on the cart hub. I can slow and even stop the hub turning without a lot of effort. I am guessing that's the trouble.

Any suggestions or help is appreciated. I am an Broadcast Television Engineer by trade but don't have the manual or any experience with this particular item.

Thanks everyone,

Sean

#2 Scott Bullock

Scott Bullock
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 245 posts
  • Other
  • Denver, CO

Posted 28 October 2006 - 10:31 PM

You might want to contact these folks -- Craig Camera -- and ask them if they have a repair manual for the 814XL-S. I couldn't find one on their website, but that doesn't mean they don't have it or can't get one. If you find one, please let me know as I'd like to own one myself.

#3 Alessandro Machi

Alessandro Machi
  • Sustaining Members
  • 3318 posts
  • Other
  • California

Posted 29 October 2006 - 01:13 AM

OK, I have a Canon 814XLs and it seems as the motor is slipping, or a belt or something. It is slipping and not able to pull film through the cart without stopping down after about 5 seconds or so at 18fps. 24 and 9 seem to fare better.