hye jung lee

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Student

Posted 16 November 2006 - 06:50 AM

Hello everyone,
I have recently signed up to this site and am thrilled to have found so much discussion and activity concerning our craft. I am a Korean student studying cinematography in Scotland and am writing an essay about the differences between cinematography and photography. I would be very interested to your views on this matter or if you know of any particular articles I should read. I look forward to hearing from you.. Thanks - Hye Jung Lee.

#2 Paul Bruening

Paul Bruening

(deceased)

• Sustaining Members
  • 2858 posts
  • Producer
  • Oxford, Mississippi

Posted 16 November 2006 - 09:48 AM

Movement, movement and movement.

#3 Chad Stockfleth

Chad Stockfleth
  • Sustaining Members
  • 622 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Louisville, KY

Posted 16 November 2006 - 10:13 AM

Shutter angle vs. shutter speed, varying framerates, strobe lights vs. constant lights and the art of collaboration would be good places to start.

#4 Alex Wuijts

Alex Wuijts
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 16 November 2006 - 10:36 AM

Besides movement, i would say the biggest difference between cinematography and photography is in numbers. One photograph should evoke a fascinating story, while with cinematography, you use thousands of photos to achieve the same effect.

#5 Sam Wells

Sam Wells
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1751 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 16 November 2006 - 10:38 AM

You _can_ make films without collaborators though.

(And you can make still photographs with them - a film crew, even: see Gregory Crewsdon)

A deeper question is, is it "motion motion motion" or "appearance of motion appearance of motion appearance of motion" ? :blink:

Anything longer than a short answer here will be very long !

-Sam

Sam Wells film/.../nj

#6 Alex Wuijts

Alex Wuijts
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 181 posts