New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Student
  • Los Angeles, CA

Posted 26 November 2006 - 01:40 PM

Hi everyone,

I'm shooting a project pretty soon with an Arri-S and I heard that there can be flicker problems when using HMIs.
I'll be using a 1200 with a magnetic ballast, and the camera has the Arri-brand variable speed motor
(shooting at 24fps).

Thanks,
Luke

#2 Tim Carroll

Tim Carroll
  • Sustaining Members
  • 2165 posts
  • Other
  • Chicago, Illinois

Posted 26 November 2006 - 02:13 PM

If you are using the Arri variable speed motor, flicker from the HMI lights will not be the problem. Those motors are considered "wild" motors because the speed fluctuates quite a bit. You will not get a constant film speed with that motor.

I'm not an expert at shooting with HMI lights, so I will let others help you there. If you are definitely shooting with an Arriflex 16S, and you want a constant film speed, the best bet is one of Clive Tobin's crystal sync motors. If memory serves, there were two variation (TXM10-S and TXM-17) that could be hooked up to his Milliframe Controller, which can be adjusted to deal with HMI, TV screen phase, etc.

-Tim

PS: I did find this on Clive's site:
Filming Under HMI Lights. For shooting under discontinuous (flashing) illumination there are only certain speeds that will give flicker-free footage. Such sources include HMI lights, fluorescents, and discharge type street lights. On 60 Hz and 50 Hz current, these lights flash 120 or 100 times per second respectively. To get even exposure from one frame to the next there must be a whole number of flashes per frame.
Safe speeds can be calculated by dividing the flashing rate by 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and so on.

#3 Kevin Zanit

Kevin Zanit
  • Sustaining Members
  • 1223 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • LA

Posted 26 November 2006 - 03:33 PM