Paul Swann

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Other
  • London

Posted 02 January 2007 - 04:00 PM

Pre-production has just begun on a low budget feature film I'm shooting in February. I'm shooting on S16mm for 35mm blow up (on Fuji eterna stocks 8663/8673). For a number of flashback scenes the director requires a nostalgic look (1980's) and has provided a photograph for visual reference (the scenes are a mixture of day exteriors and day/night interiors). The photograph has a distinct warm/magenta cast caused by it's ageing process and I want some advice on how best to achieve a similar look for the film. I want to maintain normal contast levels so my thoughts are to add the warm/magenta wash/cast in post during grading (conventional/optical blow-up) and print on a higher contrast print stock. I have attached the photograph for reference and as this film is my first feature I'm a relative novice and welcome any advice.

Attached Images

• flashback_reference.jpg

#2 Stuart Brereton

Stuart Brereton
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3057 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 02 January 2007 - 04:28 PM

I want to maintain normal contast levels so my thoughts are to add the warm/magenta wash/cast in post during grading (conventional/optical blow-up) and print on a higher contrast print stock.

Part of the look is the lifted blacks and general lowered contrast, so printing on a higher contrast stock may just work against you. To me, it looks like a magenta filter, combined with flashing would get you the desired look.

#3 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19759 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 02 January 2007 - 05:53 PM

Part of the look is the lifted blacks and general lowered contrast, so printing on a higher contrast stock may just work against you. To me, it looks like a magenta filter, combined with flashing would get you the desired look.