Liz Acosta

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Student

Posted 04 January 2007 - 09:34 PM

Hey there

I just received a Nizo 4080 Super-8 camera for Christmas from my dad - super awesome. I'm finishing up in film school now. I mostly do sound work, but want to experiment with super-8

So I'm trying to figure out my way around this camera & I've noticed what appears to be a hair in the gate. Unfortunately, after following the vague gate-cleaning instructions provided with the camera, the hair is still visible when I look through the eye piece. It certainly wasn't there before

It is in the bottom of the window. I don't think it could be anything other than a stray hair

I'm totally new to this, so if anyone could help me out, that would be awesome. I searched the forum for any previous posts concerning this & could find none

Thanks a bunch !!!

#2 Frank Barrera

Frank Barrera
  • Sustaining Members
  • 464 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles, CA

Posted 04 January 2007 - 10:15 PM

a "hair in the gate" would not be visible through the eye piece. if you have cleaned the gate it probably is in fact clean and what you are seeing is most likely some dust inside of the viewing system which will have no effect on the image when you expose the film. To test this you should run some film through the camera.

f

#3 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19759 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 04 January 2007 - 10:19 PM

I'm not sure if your name is Liz EAcosta... but please correct your User Name. You should have seen these instructions below when you registered. Thanks.

Forum Terms & Rules

READ THIS - IT'S NOT LONG :)

You must register using your REAL NAME. That means your first name, a space, then your last name. If you don't use your real name, or you register with a name that looks like your real name but we find out is not your real name, your account will be permanently disabled.