#1 Tyler Leisher

Tyler Leisher
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 91 posts
  • Director
  • El Segundo, CA

Posted 08 January 2007 - 10:31 PM

Hi, I'm looking for a good inexpensive (Sub-$400) camera for short films and family outings.. I'm a student and new to cinematography and I'm just looking for a good solid camera that I can make simple movies with and then transfer to my computer to edit in Premiere Pro.

So I'm curious, should I find a good Hi8 camera, or should I go with MiniDV?

If I go with 8mm, how do I transfer from tape to the computer?

Thanks in advance.

#2 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19759 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 08 January 2007 - 11:14 PM

I'd keep things simple and use a Mini-DV camera that allows you to go from your camera (as a tape playback device) to your computer using a firewire connection. Since Hi-8 was an analog video format, I doubt any of the cameras have a firewire-out. There are A-D converters out there (analog-to-digital) but that would be an additional piece of equipment, plus there would be some loss of quality.

#3 Matthew Buick

Matthew Buick
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2345 posts
  • Student
  • Newcastle upon Tyne, UK.

Posted 09 January 2007 - 04:19 PM

The Sony EVW-300 which is a Hi8 ENG supplies over 700 lins of resolution...well and truly 0wning Mini DV.

#4 Alessandro Machi

Alessandro Machi
  • Sustaining Members
  • 3318 posts
  • Other
  • California

Posted 09 January 2007 - 04:29 PM

The Sony EVW-300 which is a Hi8 ENG supplies over 700 lins of resolution...well and truly 0wning Mini DV.

But it doesn't cost $400.00 dollars or less???

The Sony family of TRV-digital 8 camcorders are a pretty good choice. Just make sure it doesn't have "touch screen" technology instead of push buttons. I don't know if they are still making non-touch screen digital 8 camcorders so you may have to resort the many sneaky and misrepresenting sellers of eBay.