Matthew Buick
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2345 posts
  • Student
  • Newcastle upon Tyne, UK.

Posted 12 January 2007 - 04:18 PM

...in cinematography.

I'm going to tot up all the ages and work out the average age that people start getting that interest in cinematography.

Me: 12.

Best Regards. :D

P.S: If you could also tell me your handedness, I'm going to work that into the equation and look for a connection.

Me: Left handed.

Thanks, and good day/night. :D

#2 Nicholas Jenkins

Nicholas Jenkins
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Student
  • Missoula, MT

Posted 12 January 2007 - 04:32 PM

I think when I was an undergrad studying photography, I really got interested in how it all worked in motion pictures. Since I loved films, I started to investigate how things were done. Now I'm DPing for other grads in my department.

#3 Chad Stockfleth

Chad Stockfleth
  • Sustaining Members
  • 622 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Louisville, KY

Posted 12 January 2007 - 04:51 PM

Was into music since a young age. At 20 I went to school to be an audio engineer, but started to wonder if I would enjoy it as a career (loved it too much to try to make money off it, long hours in windowless studios) so transfered to the film dept. as I'd always had a passing interest in photography. Sets seemed like a lot more fun to be on.

So, 20. Right-handed. Libra/Scorpio cusp. :D

#4 Robert Hughes

Robert Hughes
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 873 posts
  • Sound Department
  • Minneapolis

Posted 12 January 2007 - 04:58 PM

I got interested about 1982, did film school for a few years, eventually ran outta cash. My instructor told our class to save our money and go shoot video for awhile.

Fast forward to 2004-I was in a post house editing a video and saw some Pro8 film transferred to DigiBeta, and thought "wow, that looks great!" Nowadays it's video for money, film for love.

#5 Jonathan Bowerbank

Jonathan Bowerbank
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip