Photo

panasonic ag dvx100A which setting should i use?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 grahamstanly

grahamstanly
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 80 posts
  • Student

Posted 18 January 2007 - 12:29 PM

Hey guys I am filming a short with my church, and we are using a panasonic ag dvx100A. I am wondering which settings I should use there will be a lot of shots done on a beach, and a lot will be done in direct sunlight? any suggestions would be helpful keep in mind I have never used this camera before but I have use some hd sony ones, and the xl2, and gl2.

Thanks again

#2 Daniel Carruthers

Daniel Carruthers
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 334 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Canada

Posted 18 January 2007 - 03:42 PM

Hey guys I am filming a short with my church, and we are using a panasonic ag dvx100A. I am wondering which settings I should use there will be a lot of shots done on a beach, and a lot will be done in direct sunlight? any suggestions would be helpful keep in mind I have never used this camera before but I have use some hd sony ones, and the xl2, and gl2.

Thanks again

well if you will probly want to shoot it in 24p mode if your just planning to realease on dvd, for atheatrical realease you should shoot 24p advanced. just so you know the strobing effect you get in 24 p modes is normal just becarful on on pans to minimize the effect, I think on the widest lens it should take an object 7 seconds to cross the screen, now you dont have to fallow that rule.

I cant really tell you what settings to use because i havent seen the location or read the script,
I usually shoot in cinegamma and have detail level at about -3 and v detail at -3 and detail coring at about +7, these settings will give your image a softer edge, and the detail coring helps reduce noise that may occur.