Otis Grapsas
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 44 posts
  • Digital Image Technician
  • Athens, Greece

Posted 20 January 2007 - 06:45 AM

Hello, this is my first post:)

I'm a software engineer and I'm developing a low cost uncompressed digital cinematography solution for low budget/no budget filmmaking. I have experimented with various CMOS and CCD sensors on the market and decided after testing and measurements that CMOS is incapable of good quality due to poor low light performance, extra processing needed to cover pixel faults, pattern noise and motion quality problems inherent in the technology. On the other hand, CCD is capable of good saturation and signal per noise performance in average light, very linear in low light (good shadow detail), capable of preserving saturation in low light and very sensitive. Even the noise quality is better when the image is recorde uncompressed due to its statistical qualities. The only drawbacks compared to CMOS are a lower MTF which results in softer image with equivalent pixel count, smear problems which are not a big problem in quality CCD, and split pattern effects on the large pixel counts which can be solved to a degree by properly controling the amplifiers.

I'm at the point where I need to decide on the color response of the system and implement color correction algorithms. It is easy to get technical precision using a color chart but I'm more interested in the nonlinearity of film and its saturation properties. I have no access to cine film equipment or quality telecine.