#1 Randy Burleson

Randy Burleson

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Camera Operator

Posted 22 January 2007 - 12:21 PM

OK, I am an HD newbie but not a video newbie.

I am getting ready to shoot my first job in HD.
The project that I am working on is a biography/documentary style video.
I will be editing on Final Cut Pro and will be inputing the video via Firewire from a Panasonic HD-1400 VTR.
The final product will be a direct to retail DVD. There is a slim chance that it may at some point be broadcast.

But before I shoot a frame of video I am trying to determine the best way to go for me.
I will be renting a Panasonic HDX900. It shoots with 720 native chips and CAN up convert in camera to 1080.
Should I shoot 1080 or should I stay with the 720 format?

Another question I have is ....
Should I use 24p or go video style 29.97p?
If I shoot 29.97, can?t I treat the finished master later to get a film look if I decide I want to go that route via Cinelook or whatever?
But, If I shoot 24p, aren?t I going to be stuck with that look? It leaves me less options later right?
I want the footage to be as flexible and adaptable to any use or look now and later.
I also want to make sure that my Master is in the best format for Upconverting or downconverting or repurposing.
What are the gotcha?s or caveats that I need to be aware of before and during shooting and in post?

#2 Phil Rhodes

Phil Rhodes
  • Sustaining Members
  • 11943 posts
  • Other

Posted 22 January 2007 - 01:49 PM

Hi,

> Should I shoot 1080 or should I stay with the 720 format?

Run tests, but there's unlikely to be anything to be gained from blowing it up.

> Should I use 24p or go video style 29.97p?