#1 Jamie McIntyre

Jamie McIntyre
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 212 posts
  • Student
  • Los Angeles / Reading, UK

Posted 30 January 2007 - 07:13 PM

I am from England and working in the US.

I am a student so i am not used to they way you guys use feet yet.

Is there any other formula other than the 10mm = 1 foot for 35mm and 50mm = 2.5 feet for 16mm?

Anyway to do it in meters?

Thanks,

Jamie

Edited by Jamie_dp, 30 January 2007 - 07:13 PM.

#2 Daniel Madsen

Daniel Madsen
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 201 posts
  • Student
  • Boston

Posted 31 January 2007 - 04:35 AM

If you know how long a foot is why does it matter?

#3 Stuart Brereton

Stuart Brereton
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3065 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 31 January 2007 - 05:14 AM

In recent years, thanks to the UKs partial integration with Europe, Imperial measurements like feet & inches are no longer taught in school. If you are younger than about 25, you almost certainly only learnt the metric system.

:angry:

#4 Max Jacoby

Max Jacoby
  • Sustaining Members
  • 2955 posts
  • Other

Posted 31 January 2007 - 05:27 AM

In recent years, thanks to the UKs partial integration with Europe, Imperial measurements like feet & inches are no longer taught in school. If you are younger than about 25, you almost certainly only learnt the metric system.

:angry:

It's about bloody time! Imperial is completely useless for any precise messaurements. 3/128th of an inch and such. If you're looking for a reason the Brits lost their empire look no further than the imperial messurements ;)

About the only thing it's good for is focus-pulling actually. I find it much more practical than metric, because you have whole numbers for longer (i.e. 2 feet instead of 0.6m).

#5 Stuart Brereton

Stuart Brereton
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3065 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 31 January 2007 - 05:45 AM