18 replies to this topic

#1 David Sweetman

David Sweetman
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 757 posts
  • Student

Posted 06 March 2007 - 08:40 PM

It seems so often on set I find myself wanting a backlight directly behind a subject, but can seldom hide or frame out the stand and light efficiently. So I'm thinking about building something like the following diagram, (which is not to scale - i'm not a mechanical drafter) and hanging the lightest 1-2k I can find from it, so that I can keep the two c-stands as far apart as possible while staying safe. Any suggestions or ideas on this?

Does something like this already exist for location shoots? I'd imagine it does - if so, what is it called?

Posted Image

#2 chris kempinski

chris kempinski
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 75 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 06 March 2007 - 09:38 PM

It seems so often on set I find myself wanting a backlight directly behind a subject, but can seldom hide or frame out the stand and light efficiently. So I'm thinking about building something like the following diagram, (which is not to scale - i'm not a mechanical drafter) and hanging the lightest 1-2k I can find from it, so that I can keep the two c-stands as far apart as possible while staying safe. Any suggestions or ideas on this?

Does something like this already exist for location shoots? I'd imagine it does - if so, what is it called?

Posted Image

We call it a Goal Post. Others may have another name for it. You need a good sized piece of pipe and something a bit beefier than C-stands. you can get ears that will fit 2" pipe, normally for large 12X or 20X frames, then something like a hi-roller or hi-hi to hold the weight once it's in the air. I like hi-rollers cause the legs have a lower profile and you can move the entire rig somewhat easily.

cheers
chris

#3 Troy Warr

Troy Warr
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 212 posts
  • Other
  • Austin, TX, USA

Posted 06 March 2007 - 09:57 PM

Hi David,