Nick

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Student

Posted 14 March 2007 - 03:05 AM

Hey guys;

Totally new around here, but not really to photography...

See, I have this problem. I'm 18, burning through a year of worthless gen-ed classes at my college at home to sort of give myself some extra time to really think about what I want to go into for a living. I've been a photographer ever since I was sort of 'inspired' by a friend of mine in high school. I picked up a Konica Minolta Z2, got it stolen in NYC, and then picked up a Nikon D50 and shot ever since. I've been a huge; HUGE fan of movies since I can remember, and basically idolized people like Lucas and Speilberg.

Anyway to the point I'm trying to make, I feel I have a very artistic talent in terms of shooting things from my times photographing things. Through watching movies day in and day out, I feel like I picked up on a style, clearly recognized in my photo shoots, but I'm worried if I go into cinematography, the technical aspects and tricks I use won't trade over, like ISO speeds and exposure corrections in post, etc.

How different is, and I don't like the word "operating", because you're more so "manipulating", a film camera from using a digital SLR camera?

Also, I really want to get out and start shooting some shorts and low budget stuff around Detroit with writer and director I know from various colleges around here, but I'm at a loss for a good basic cheap digital camera to get. I don't really want to get into film because frankly I don't have the money or processing studio to edit the stuff... unless there's a place I can go to get the film put straight to digital?

I dunno, toss me some thoughts;

Warmest-
Nick

#2 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19759 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 14 March 2007 - 03:12 AM