#1 Ed Smith

Ed Smith

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Director

Posted 18 March 2007 - 08:58 PM

I'm getting ready to direct a feature-length project, and would like some advice on whether to mix sound directly to the camera or to a separate recorder.

We've got a good boom pole, good Senheisser shotgun mics, a Shure FP 33 field mixer. I plan on using a sound mixer and a boom operator.

We'll probably end up using our Panasonic 100A camera, which has two XLR inputs. We may go with the Panasonic 900 SDX, but I don't know that we'll be able to raise the money for that one.

Also, if you suggest we capture sound to a recorder, will a more modestly priced MiniDisc recorder work ok, or should I look for something more high end ($900-$1300)? I may be able to borrow an older DAT recorder, but I've never used one before.

One last thing...if we record sound separately, as long as we slate each shot, are we good to go in terms of snych in post?

Any advice is most appreciated.

Ed

#2 Walter Graff

Walter Graff
  • Sustaining Members
  • 1334 posts
  • Other
  • New York City

Posted 18 March 2007 - 10:14 PM

With your budget I'd suggest you record directly to camera. The sound quality will be perfectly fine for your needs and is more than sufficient.

#3 Dennis Kisilyov

Dennis Kisilyov
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 152 posts
  • Other

Posted 20 March 2007 - 02:26 AM

A Solid State 24bit/96khz recorder (no tapes, no harddrives - those make noise) is about $300USD + $900 for ALOT of MEDIA. Gigabytes of Media.