Beatriz Santiago

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Other

Posted 30 March 2007 - 10:20 AM

Hello,

I am a novice testing a Beaulieu R16, without a magazine, just a 100ft roll.
It came back from the lab looking good in terms of exposure, focus but it is
up-and-down jiggly, jumpy, jittery. It does not come in and out of focus, so I believe,
from what I've read in some manuals, that it is not the pressure plate. Sounds more like
registration pin issues but is possible that it is something i did wrong in loading?

I dont want to send it out for repairs thousands of miles away (I live in San Juan, Puerto Rico)
in vain...I'd like to have a fair idea that it does indeed need repair and that it is not my own
user mistake before I ship it out.

Any ideas on how to figure this out?

Thanks

Beatriz

#2 Christian Appelt

Christian Appelt
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts

Posted 30 March 2007 - 11:12 AM

Are you sure you made the upper loop big enough when you did load the camera?

Load a bit of discarded film, let the camera run at slowest speed and watch the upper loop: It may become small, but the film must never be tightened, otherwise you get the phenomenon you described.

Please check this and tell us what you found out (when you're at it, look at the lower loop too).

BTW, the Beaulieu has no register pin, only the claw that pulls the film down.

Edited by Christian Appelt, 30 March 2007 - 11:13 AM.

#3 Bernie O'Doherty

Bernie O'Doherty
  • Sustaining Members
  • 232 posts
  • Other
  • Newark Valley, NY

Posted 30 March 2007 - 05:15 PM

Hi Beatriz, Make sure that the little pressure-plate directly behind the film is actually pressing against the film when closed. The camera does not have a registration pin, so that's not the problem.
Make sure the roller guide piece...the part that you can lift out which encompasses the rollers...is completely depressed.
Look and see, with the camera running, that the take-up spindle is turning.