Dan Goldberg
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Student
  • London, Ontario, Canada

Posted 02 April 2007 - 03:56 PM

Hey all,

This is my first post as a new user here, so bare with me. I'm a university student at the moment, studying film and MIT, and have recently been very active in many student film festivals around the province. However, I am looking to truly begin my filmmaking career this summer, and am looking to purchase a very high-quality camera. :lol:
I discovered the HDRFX1 and, though slightly on the expensive side for me, seemed like what I wanted. However, I shortly after researched it's companion, the FX7 and doing quite some research have discovered that the FX7 has, with only a couple exceptions, many more capabilities and qualities than the FX1. Yet the FX1 is more expensive? :huh: I'm confused.
As a university student looking to finally get out into the field of film, which camera would work better for me? I have compiled a few 'ups and downs' for each, however I am unsure if the extra $400 (approx) for the FX1 is worth it or not.

FX1:

- So it's got the manual zoom ring, which would be incredibly helpful, but is the extra money worth it?
- The LCD 3.5in screen is located above the controls for easier viewing while filming.
- But only 12X Optical Zoom!? :blink:

FX7:

- No zoom ring...
- Same size screen, but much better, it being a 3.5in WIDE Hybrid photo LCD!
- 20X optical zoom, much better than it's brother.
- Among many other things, such as Photo Mode and USB Streaming, while the FX1 has none of this.

What would you recommend? What would you personally put as utmost improtance when buying a camera such as one of these? As well, is the manual zoom ring worth the extra $400??

Thanks for reading! I'd appreciate your input!

Dan Goldberg. B)

#2 David Bradley

David Bradley
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 159 posts
  • Other
  • London UK

Posted 13 April 2007 - 06:07 PM

Hi Dan