#1 Yee Cheung

Yee Cheung

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Student

Posted 09 May 2007 - 01:58 PM

Hello all. I am doing a student film with a 16mm camera. I don't know anything about step-printing, but I would like to create that kind of motion blur effect like in the beginning sequence of "Chungking Express." Is there any way I can achieve that effect on Final Cut Pro? Should I film at a lower frame rate?

Any suggestions? I'm pretty new to these. Thank you.

#2 Chris Keth

Chris Keth
  • Sustaining Members
  • 4427 posts
  • 1st Assistant Camera
  • Los Angeles

Posted 09 May 2007 - 03:14 PM

Hello all. I am doing a student film with a 16mm camera. I don't know anything about step-printing, but I would like to create that kind of motion blur effect like in the beginning sequence of "Chungking Express." Is there any way I can achieve that effect on Final Cut Pro? Should I film at a lower frame rate?

Any suggestions? I'm pretty new to these. Thank you.

The basic idea is to shoot at a lower framerate and then print to a normal framerate. In the "old days" you would do cross-dissolves between "real" frames that are long enough to get you back up to 24 fps. An example would be to shoot at 8fps and then the frame progression would go like this:

1.real frame 1
2.70% real frame 1, 30% real frame 2
3.70% real frame 2, 30% real frame 1
4.real frame 2

et cetera. The percentages are just made up but it would be something like that. Now you could easily do that in final cut.

If you wanted to do it in a way involving interframe interpolation, I think a dedicated effects program would do the job better.

#3 Yee Cheung

Yee Cheung

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Student

Posted 09 May 2007 - 04:58 PM