#1 michael rossi

michael rossi

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 13 May 2007 - 11:54 AM

Hey I'm a newbie and I have a question about the sun outdoors. I've taken a few film classes (I plan on attending film school) which have primarly been focused on digital movie making.

A few weeks ago I went to a workshop on film and learned a bit about lighting and metering. I've also read up on filming outdoors. What confuses me is that if you use the sun as a backlight and meter the light hitting the subject wont the background be overexposed?

I guess to try and better explain what I mean say you have a wide shot with a person standing in the middle of a park. The sun is behind them acting as there backlight, you meter the light hitting them with the incident, set your stop and shoot. But since you metered for the light in front wont the back (with the sun) blow out? I'm a bit confused on this process.

#2 pascal Boyer

pascal Boyer
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 70 posts
  • 2nd Assistant Camera
  • Paris/France

Posted 13 May 2007 - 12:19 PM

Hey I'm a newbie and I have a question about the sun outdoors. I've taken a few film classes (I plan on attending film school) which have primarly been focused on digital movie making.

A few weeks ago I went to a workshop on film and learned a bit about lighting and metering. I've also read up on filming outdoors. What confuses me is that if you use the sun as a backlight and meter the light hitting the subject wont the background be overexposed?

I guess to try and better explain what I mean say you have a wide shot with a person standing in the middle of a park. The sun is behind them acting as there backlight, you meter the light hitting them with the incident, set your stop and shoot. But since you metered for the light in front wont the back (with the sun) blow out? I'm a bit confused on this process.