#1 Stephen Whitehead

Stephen Whitehead
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 124 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Toronto, Canada

Posted 20 May 2007 - 03:43 PM

I was wondering if using 3d modeling software such as Maya or Lightwave would be useful to previsualise lighting setups. I am somewhat familiar with the packages. I know that most lighting effects can be created within these packages, but to what extent could the lighting functions of these software packages be translated into practical lighting setups. I.E. to what extent do the lights in the program mimic actual lighting fixtures?

Anythoughts would be appreciated.

Cheers,

Steve Whitehead

#2 Nick Mulder

Nick Mulder
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1023 posts
  • Other
  • Auckland, New Zealand

Posted 20 May 2007 - 03:55 PM

Sorry I'm no expert but I do know there are packages like WYSIWYG that are made specifically for this application. I reckon have a sniff or two around the site ...

#3 Xavier Plaza

Xavier Plaza
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 288 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Guayaquil - Ecuador

Posted 20 May 2007 - 04:24 PM

Hi Stephen:

I think using 3D pre visualization help you to think and imagine what you want, obviously depends the project what you do..., you can illuminated, choose lights, and put the camera what ever you want, test movements, test lights, sometimes test textures, colors and make test (previews) with actors and lights. Remember is a pre visualizations perhaps when you arrive the set somethings changes...
I use Cinema 4D to make my pre visualizations, i not to handle all the functions of the program but i'm ok with basics concepts...
Storyboards always is a good tool for everyone, any tool that you have and you can use it helped you to obtain your goal.

Hope helps

Attached Images

• 1.jpg
  • 2.jpg
  • 3..jpg

#4 Stephen Whitehead

Stephen Whitehead
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 124 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Toronto, Canada