New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Camera Operator
  • Carlsbad, CA

Posted 25 May 2007 - 04:11 PM

Dear fellow Cinematographers,
My name is Jerry Chen, I found this Cinematography website via Google. I am a 15 year old sophomore at Carlsbad high school, in Carlsbad, California. My English class and I are working on a career unit right now, and I am researching the field of wildlife film production. what are some helpful tips into getting into the realm of Wildlife Cinematography.

i know that being in a film or journalism class greatly helps, as i am with Carlsbad high school's nationally renown broadcasting team, CHSTV Worldwide. (here's our link: www.chstv.com) so i know that helps, but besides that, What are some other tips or steps that i can take to further my abilities in getting a job in the wildlife film business?
-Jerry Chen
Carlsbad High School

#2 Nick Mulder

Nick Mulder
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1023 posts
  • Other
  • Auckland, New Zealand

Posted 25 May 2007 - 05:02 PM

Gidday Jerry,

I'm not a natural history cinematographer myself but had the pleasure of meeting another cinematography.com user Phil Savoie (http://www.philsavoie.com/page1.html) when I bought an underwater housing off him last year.

Great chap to talk to - I think he's teaching at Montana State a the moment - otherwise I'm pretty sure he's still based in Wales...

I'm sure if he's not too busy he'd be happy to answer a question or 5 ;)

#3 Phil Savoie

Phil Savoie
  • Sustaining Members
  • 94 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Montana / Wales

Posted 27 May 2007 - 09:56 PM

Hi Jerry,