Photo

Vivid color correction on HD/HDV footage?

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Voitek Nosovski

Voitek Nosovski

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Student

Posted 24 June 2007 - 07:15 AM

First of all, i know my question can be too basic to ask here since im not a pro and lack knowledge in a lot of fields of cinematography. I did, however, search those forums and found some answers but this is still a big secret to me.

||Im completely clueless as to where to search for information on color correction done in most music videos and tv commercials. |Im using some standard Vegas color curves, color correction stuff and it works pretty well to create a 16mm look for my footage. Now im completely obsessed with my quest to achieve somehow similar look the 35mm music videos with their really vivid colors, smooth skin etc. For what i understand most of it is done through:
- correct lighting
- telecine/cc

Now assumig that the subject is lit decently and make up is done, what to use to make those colors so damn VIVID. im aware of the argument of superiority of film to hd/hdv and i agree. But seeing raw 35mm footage and the same footage on TV as finished video i must say- it HAS to be possible.
How to do it with software like Vegas/AE or anything else thats affordable?
Playing with color correction usually affects the whole frame even if its secondary cc, magic bullet is too gritty for this.
Look at the green (grass, trees) in those pics- its a special kind of green i would like to get. The muted but vivid reds (tried saturation but its not that).
Please guide me!
|here is flickr set opf screengrabs for reference:
http://flickr.com/ph...57600462394166/

#2 James Compton

James Compton
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 311 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 24 June 2007 - 02:11 PM

Eventually, you will have to shoot some film. Just go and do it, you will thank yourself.