#1 Andy Ewert

Andy Ewert

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Student

Posted 28 June 2007 - 07:13 PM

Hello all, I've been reading for a while but this is a first time post!

I'm a film student with a strong interest in cinematography, and I'm going to be spending the fall semester in Hollywood. I need to find an unpaid internship (because I'll be getting class credit for it) and my question to all of you is: do you have any advice of where to look, maybe what things to look for, what things to stay away from? What are good types of internships to do, and with what types of companies, to get the most benefit from them for a career in cinematography? The search has been somewhat overwhelming and I was just wondering if anyone here had some sage advice to offer. Specific companies or internships as well as just general thoughts are equally welcome!

Thanks to all in advance,

Andy

#2 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19769 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 28 June 2007 - 10:21 PM

Contact all the cinematographers you want to do an internship with.

#3 Richard Boddington

Richard Boddington
  • Sustaining Members
  • 5482 posts
  • Director

Posted 28 June 2007 - 11:05 PM

I think you'll be getting an e-mail from him shortly David :D

R,

#4 David Regan

David Regan
  • Sustaining Members
  • 218 posts
  • 1st Assistant Camera
  • New York

Posted 29 June 2007 - 08:31 PM

I got mine just looking on Mandy.com for internships being offered. It might take some looking, but every now and then good oportunities would pop up that I would apply for.

Good Luck

#5 Andy Ewert

Andy Ewert

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Student

Posted 04 July 2007 - 11:35 PM