#1 Peter Lee

Peter Lee

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 01 July 2007 - 12:40 PM

A friend of mine gave me this EIKI 16mm projector (I put those reels on there just for show, the lamp is burnt out) so I've decided to jump into making 16mm shorts. I've never worked with film before. Another friend of mine is lending me a working Filmo 70 D camera.

I was wondering if making films was easy as loading the camera with film (7285 Ektachrome), filming things outside, sending it off to a lab, then waiting for it to come back and then I can just throw it on the projector. I know I have to watch for light and such, but, stripped down, is it that simple?

Also, how much should 100" of 7285 Ektachrome cost? It's about $50 on Dwayne's Photo and I was wondering if that was a good deal.

And does it really only cost $.24 per foot to process?

Thanks for taking time to read this from a kid who's still got milk behind his ears.

#2 Herb Montes

Herb Montes
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • Other
  • Gulf Coast of Texas

Posted 01 July 2007 - 06:49 PM

I have a manual for the Eiki models RST/RT/RM series. You can get replacement bulbs from Urbanski Film as well as leader and projection reels. You will also want to get a set of rewinds when you shoot enough film to put on bigger reels.

If you're just starting out you many want to start with black & white film like Plus-X. It's cheaper to make mistakes with lower cost stock. Especially if you haven't used film before.

Edited by Herb Montes, 01 July 2007 - 06:50 PM.

#3 Robert Hughes

Robert Hughes
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 873 posts
  • Sound Department
  • Minneapolis

Posted 02 July 2007 - 07:45 PM

A friend of mine gave me this EIKI 16mm projector (I put those reels on there just for show, the lamp is burnt out) so I've decided to jump into making 16mm shorts. I've never worked with film before. Another friend of mine is lending me a working Filmo 70 D camera.