#1 James Rydings

James Rydings
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 38 posts
  • 1st Assistant Camera
  • Los Angeles, California

Posted 21 July 2007 - 07:00 AM

I am shooting a flashback scene for a short I will be shooting in Italy on super 16. The scene will be shot under a large tree in the middle of a golden field around sunrise, maybe with a bit of haze in the air (I have yet to decide this). I want to give it a saturated warm look with soft blown out highlights. I am thinking of using a Pola to give me cleaner colors and a little more saturation, and I will have a set of coral filters with me to give it a slightly warmer feel (compensating for it as the sun rises). I am also thinking of over exposing about 2/3rds or 1 stop and using a white pro mist filter to soften and blow out the highlights.

I have never used the white pro-mist before so I am not sure of which one to use, as I dont want to over do it and unfortunately I will be unable to test it. Does anyone have any advice, or maybe some pictures of the varying white pro-mist filters? Or would you even recommend using a different filter to achieve this look?

Regards,
James

#2 David Regan

David Regan
  • Sustaining Members
  • 218 posts
  • 1st Assistant Camera
  • New York

Posted 21 July 2007 - 07:26 PM

Pro mist filters have been discused on here before, try doing a search. The following link is a past post that has some really good responses from other users that should be able to help.
http://www.cinematog...=black pro mist

Also this website has some comparison photos from Tiffen to give you a bit of an idea.
http://www.tiffen.com/promist.htm

Good Luck

#3 Chris Keth

Chris Keth
  • Sustaining Members
  • 4427 posts
  • 1st Assistant Camera
  • Los Angeles

Posted 21 July 2007 - 08:06 PM