#1 Jack Davis

Jack Davis

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Other

Posted 23 July 2007 - 06:00 PM

I am looking for way to capture scenics with high contrast. As a still photographer I specialize in dramatic landscapes, wildlife and nature. In the past I have played with a XL1s and found it to be marginal for this type of image capture. The ccds can't hold the contrast and the natural look is destroyed. Also, a shallow depth of field would be great. Something with the bokeh of my 600 f4 canon. Looking at Sony dsr-450 or Panasonic Ag-HPX500. Lens suggestions for these cameras. Thanks :rolleyes:

#2 Chris Keth

Chris Keth
  • Sustaining Members
  • 4427 posts
  • 1st Assistant Camera
  • Los Angeles

Posted 24 July 2007 - 12:21 AM

I am looking for way to capture scenics with high contrast. As a still photographer I specialize in dramatic landscapes, wildlife and nature. In the past I have played with a XL1s and found it to be marginal for this type of image capture. The ccds can't hold the contrast and the natural look is destroyed. Also, a shallow depth of field would be great. Something with the bokeh of my 600 f4 canon. Looking at Sony dsr-450 or Panasonic Ag-HPX500. Lens suggestions for these cameras. Thanks :rolleyes:

There aren't many video cameras that can give the kind of look you're talking about. CCDs are just too small. Something like an Arri d20 or a panavision genesis is getting closer but those are hardly "grab it and go" video cameras.

How about 16mm film?

#3 Tim Chambers

Tim Chambers
  • Guests

Posted 27 July 2007 - 03:00 PM

Have you looked into 35mm lens adapters like the RedRock M2?

#4 Michael Nash

Michael Nash
  • Sustaining Members
  • 3330 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Pasadena, CA

Posted 27 July 2007 - 05:54 PM