#1 Timothy Riese

Timothy Riese
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Other
  • Sherman Oaks, CA

Posted 25 July 2007 - 11:54 AM

Hey everyone. I've been doing television as an operator for about 5 years but my main passion is in narrative film-making. I recently moved to LA to pursue my real dreams. Although I have done some shorts and indies and have quite a bit of HD experience, I realize the pros are using 35 and will be the same people who move into more HD productions.

With that being said I believe I need to get 'in' with this caliber of film-makers to really pursue a true career. Although I have quite a bit of book knowledge, I've only been on a few film shoots as a camera pa. I've read all the books on AC work and have practiced dummy loads at panavision and believe I'm ready to start ACing or at least camera 'traineeing' on real shoots. Be it for free or pay I'm just looking for the opportunity to work with great people, train under talented DPs, and make connections to propel my career forward.

I know there are a lot of operators in television that would rather be making films but I'm willing to take the step down from operating to start at wherever I have to, to make it happen. Thanks for your time and patience with my long winded explanation, any suggestions, tips/tricks, comments, opportunities, or job offers would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Tim Riese
310-880-4172
www.timriese.com

#2 Dan Salzmann

Dan Salzmann
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1143 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Paris, France

Posted 25 July 2007 - 12:48 PM

Sounds like you need to NETWORK like crazy!

#3 Timothy Riese

Timothy Riese
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Other
  • Sherman Oaks, CA

Posted 27 July 2007 - 09:04 PM

Sounds like you need to NETWORK like crazy!

Hence the post ;) Any and all work welcome as long as it's with a talented crew! paid or not...

#4 Bruce Greene

Bruce Greene
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 489 posts