michael1972

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 26 July 2007 - 03:28 AM

hi,
i now own a S16mm bolex, i wanted to buy a good light meter not only to use but primarily to learn from as well about film.So i bought a classic Sekonic L398
Problem is i dont have all the cards that are available for the light meter so when i get a reading of a subject on a sunny day 24 fps using 64d stock for example i get some pretty strange readings.
Me being a total newbie and not doing it right is no way out of the question but i dont want to ruin any more film or money, so if any of the more experienced legends out there i would love to hear what you may say on this matter.
Also i want to shoot surfing in the water, usually on sunny days what would be the best way to get a safe reading from land?
Thanks guys for any wisdom. Mike

#2 Nick Mulder

Nick Mulder
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1023 posts
  • Other
  • Auckland, New Zealand

Posted 26 July 2007 - 04:11 AM

hi,
i now own a S16mm bolex, i wanted to buy a good light meter not only to use but primarily to learn from as well about film.So i bought a classic Sekonic L398
Problem is i dont have all the cards that are available for the light meter so when i get a reading of a subject on a sunny day 24 fps using 64d stock for example i get some pretty strange readings.
Me being a total newbie and not doing it right is no way out of the question but i dont want to ruin any more film or money, so if any of the more experienced legends out there i would love to hear what you may say on this matter.
Also i want to shoot surfing in the water, usually on sunny days what would be the best way to get a safe reading from land?
Thanks guys for any wisdom. Mike

I'm no legend but...

Cards ? as in %18 grey ? or info cards, like spinny wheel like thingys that tell you your bolex shutter angle and prism adjustments ? or maybe daylight/tungsten adjustment calcs ?