New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Director
  • Dallas, Tx

Posted 26 July 2007 - 02:16 PM

Hi - my name is Jon,

I'm from Dallas, Tx. I am currently putting my short script "The MadMan" into production. I have no background on camera, sound, lighting and whatever else it takes to complete a film. All I have is passion and heart, and my raw talent as a screenwriter.

Anyways... my question is, can I get a good S16mm camera for 4-5K, and would it be through online buying?

#2 Kirk Anderson

Kirk Anderson
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 220 posts
  • Other

Posted 26 July 2007 - 06:38 PM

Hey man,
welcome to the forum. Check out the search feature and look through the past posts, this question has been answered hundreds of times. After you read a couple you can ask some more specific questions about certain models, pros and cons, etc.
search for:
Eclaie NPR, ACL
Arri SR I II III
CP-16
Just to name a few sync sound cams that can be super16 for under 5K.
Kirk

#3 Herb Montes

Herb Montes
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 225 posts
  • Other
  • Gulf Coast of Texas

Posted 26 July 2007 - 07:13 PM

Hi - my name is Jon,

I'm from Dallas, Tx. I am currently putting my short script "The MadMan" into production. I have no background on camera, sound, lighting and whatever else it takes to complete a film. All I have is passion and heart, and my raw talent as a screenwriter.

Anyways... my question is, can I get a good S16mm camera for 4-5K, and would it be through online buying?

If you have no experience with all the handson aspects of making a film then you need to find a filmmaker with a camera who has the same kind of passion. Find people with the skills you need to make your film a reality. I'm in Texas but on the Gulf coast. Best of luck with your dream.

#4 David Auner aac

David Auner aac
  • Sustaining Members
  • 1117 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 27 July 2007 - 04:33 AM

Hi Jon,