Ethan Vali

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Student

Posted 30 July 2007 - 06:32 PM

Hello,
I am new at this and have been wondering about what are the steps required to become a cinematographer. Does one have to go from PA, to gripping, to gaffing, to ac, then to cinematographer. Or are there other routes?

Thanks

#2 Chris Keth

Chris Keth
  • Sustaining Members
  • 4427 posts
  • 1st Assistant Camera
  • Los Angeles

Posted 31 July 2007 - 12:47 AM

Hello,
I am new at this and have been wondering about what are the steps required to become a cinematographer. Does one have to go from PA, to gripping, to gaffing, to ac, then to cinematographer. Or are there other routes?

Thanks

Generally, people don't go from PA to gripping to electric, et cetera. Most who work their way up do so in one department.

#3 Brian Dzyak

Brian Dzyak
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1517 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Encino, California USA

Posted 31 July 2007 - 08:18 AM

Hello,

Thanks

There are two main ways to "become" a cinematography/cameraman/Director of Photography.

The first is to work your way up through the ranks, first as a Loader, then as a Second Camera Assistant (2nd AC), then as a First AC/Focus Puller, then as a Camera Operator until you are "ready" and/or convince someone that you can shoot their project. The positives of this route are that you gain experience working on professional sets with other professionals so that you learn the job and the equipment in a somewhat structured environment. You'll also meet scores of others in every part of the business as you work your way up. You'll also (likely) make decent money that will help you live a comfortable life as you invest your time into working your way up.