rafael ludescher
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Student
  • Vienna, Austria

Posted 07 August 2007 - 02:43 PM

hello there !
this is my first post in this forum.. and as i saw, its a really nice and helpful one!

fast about myself: i am an art student in vienna (austria) and im working partly as a movie screener in a small independent movie cinema (at the moment its just playing "ma mere" and "ten minutes older")
now .. i made some videos with some canon cam before.. but i wanna change to 16mm as i figured out i will buy an arri ST from ebay in the US .. europe or germany are just far not enough cams and if so more expensive..

my questions:

what means "short ends" ? are those short moviematerial parts for test shots ?
how much would you pay for 500ft ?

mattebox, does it matter what kind of mattebox or are all fabricates for arri ok ? and do i really need one?

in your experience of film, is a zoom objective important ? is it quite easy to zoom and focus in the same time ?

and i think the last questions is.. how about the SN .. from what number onm can i still get it serviced from arri (in my case the seat in munich)

and could you give me any advice what i should be really aware of or what i would really need in my kit ?

i thank you A LOT!
and im happy that i found this forum

gr.rrrF

#2 David Auner aac

David Auner aac
  • Sustaining Members
  • 1117 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 07 August 2007 - 02:51 PM

Hi Rafael!

Welcome to the boards & Gruss aus Wien 12! Do you really want to shoot yourself or are you more into directing? If you want to direct and you need a DP with equipment in Vienna, drop me a line...

Regards, Dave

#3 rafael ludescher

rafael ludescher
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Student
  • Vienna, Austria

Posted 07 August 2007 - 03:31 PM

hello ! and greetings from (at the moment) topkino ;)