#1 ahmad ikhwan

ahmad ikhwan

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Student

Posted 17 August 2007 - 08:48 PM

hi.. i am a student filmmaker who is going to shoot my thesis project in another 2 weeks! I need a professional advice on how to light a dream-like sequence. the scene is about a boy dreaming of his late mommy and him playing together, its indoor, but there are windows in the shot and the scene is during daylight... so i want it to look bright, yellow-ish, overexposed kind of thing, but i want it to look memorable, sweet memories kinda look.. sephia kinda look, but not exactly sephia... i want it to look soft.. but at the same time bright
so.. how do i light this scene without making it look burned? please give me advice with what light should i use, gels... etc

and also, i need to shoot a scene, something like the scene in The Graduate, where Dustin Hoffman's character is chilling out at the pool, and his parents and his parents friends came to talk to him... I want that look of his parents and their friends, where u can't really see their faces.. u can only see their silhoutte.. I am going to shoot this scene outdoors, in the cemetery.. without electricity access..

please help. I'm sorry for my poor english.

Oh yes.. I am going to shoot this on Panasonic HVX200

Thank You. :rolleyes: :P

#2 David Regan

David Regan
  • Sustaining Members
  • 218 posts
  • 1st Assistant Camera
  • New York

Posted 17 August 2007 - 10:43 PM

Your description of how you want the dream sequence to look, made me think immedietly of the flashback sequences in The Illusionist. I think I remember reading something in ASC magazine about how they achieved this sepia look but not actually being sepia. Perhaps try looking up some information on that film and you might get some ideas or a place to start from.

#3 ahmad ikhwan

ahmad ikhwan

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Student

Posted 18 August 2007 - 03:41 AM