ahmad ikhwan

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Student

Posted 17 August 2007 - 08:55 PM

hi

i am a student filmmaker. totally a beginner.

i need to know what should i do to achieve a dream like sequence... I am going to shoot on HVX200. the scene is going to be bright, yellow-ish and white-ish, overexposed... a heavenly scene kinda look..

so, what should i do with the camera settings? should i play with color temperature? or is it better to do the trick by lighting only? is there any other things that i should consider? please let me know.

and also i would like the scene to be in slow-mo. should i do it on the camera? if so.. how do i do it? or is it better to do it on post?

Thank You so much. I apologize if my questions are not challenging enough.

#2 Greg Johnson

Greg Johnson
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Salt Lake City, UTAH

Posted 18 August 2007 - 11:14 PM

Do it all in post. If you want slow mo, then overcrank and shoot it 60 fps in camera, then conform it to 24 fps in post. (You have to use P2 cards for 60 fps). That way it's true slow-mo, not some phooey post gimmick.

Don't over expose or adjust color in camera, shoot it all properly then you can play with looks later, rather then locking yourself into a look and blowing out your video, never to get it back.

Play with a lot of filters to soften your image, if that's the look you're going for. You can also use a 1A filter with like vasiline or something if you get really crazy. For a "imagination" sequence I did that opens a movie I used a 35mm lens adapter with the ground glass vibrator turned off on my HVX200. A lot of people didn't like it here, but I wouldn't have done it differently. I shot it in 60fps like mentioned.

Good luck!

- Greg

#3 ahmad ikhwan

ahmad ikhwan

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Student

Posted 19 August 2007 - 05:00 AM