#1 Jaap Geurts van Kessel

Jaap Geurts van Kessel

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Student

Posted 27 August 2007 - 10:36 AM

Hi! First off, I'm new with film. I have always shot on video but now I want to try film. Super8 was the obvious choice. I don't have any hands on experience with analog photography or filming but I've read a lot of theory so I'm pretty familiar with the basics.

I recently bought a Canon 1014 Auto-Zoom but since I don't have a manual I'm having a bit of trouble with some of the controls.

Posted Image

The control at the left red arrow is for the type of transition you want in your film. I slided it to the left, but how do you get it back to the right? The button seems to made in a way so that you can only slide it to the left, not the right.

Then the silver button at the right red arrow. I pushed it in, but there seems to be no way to return it to the original position. And I'm not absolutely sure, but I think that, since I pushed that button, the variable shutter control is working very different than originally. Now, if I turn the control from zero to close, it's clicking all the time, and I can only turn the control back to zero if I push in the 'fade-in' button. I think this is because it's set to a 'crossover' transition. But I don't know how to change this.

So basically my question is:
How do I get these two switches back to their original position?

Of if anyone knows where to find a manual for my camera (not the xls) that would be a great help to.

Thanks.

#2 Anthony Schilling

Anthony Schilling
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1053 posts
  • Camera Operator
  • Portland, OR

Posted 27 August 2007 - 06:19 PM

Have you tried running the camera? Things should snap back into place after running it for about 10-15 seconds.

#3 Jaap Geurts van Kessel

Jaap Geurts van Kessel

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Student

Posted 02 September 2007 - 07:18 AM