DJ Hamilton

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Student
  • New York

Posted 29 August 2007 - 09:41 AM

Shooting a student film in Berlin on 35mm and am very lucky to have a budget for a 35mm optical print. Since I am a student and American, I have so many questions. But let's start with 3.

#1. My goal is to have a finished film screened in the states with a 35mm optical print. So many Europeans have assured me that it is better to shoot in 25 and that ALL or MOST american theaters accomodate 25 fps. Is this true?

#2 If my goal is to finish with a 35mm optical print, should I shoot in 24 or 25fps?

#3 If we shot 24 fps, how difficult is it to control the quality of the image for interior shots?

Thank you very much for reading, and for any advice you can offer.

#2 Max Jacoby

Max Jacoby
  • Sustaining Members
  • 2955 posts
  • Other

Posted 29 August 2007 - 11:02 AM

Although some projectors can handle 25fps, not all of them do and even those that do would have to be switched which is not guaranteed.

If you shoot 24fps, your film will always be projected correctly but the dvd/video version will have the 4% Pal speedup

If you shoot 25fps, your film will always have the correct speed on dvd/video, but the theatrical projection will very likely be played slower (at 24fps).

Speeding up the sound is much less noticeable and less distracting than slowing it down, so I would go with 24fps. That's the way it's done with the majority of films that you see in the cinema. Just be sure that the editing system can handle 24fps.

#3 John Holland

John Holland
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2248 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • London England

Posted 29 August 2007 - 11:10 AM

Have to disagree with Max this time [ 1st time i think ] i would shoot 25 fps, you really cant tell the sound difference when projected at 24 .

#4 John Sprung

John Sprung
  • Sustaining Members
  • 4635 posts
  • Other

Posted 29 August 2007 - 12:45 PM