#1 Jack Brandhorst

Jack Brandhorst
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 02 September 2007 - 06:43 PM

Hello,

Im a student @ SMC in Los Angeles and i am in serious need of an inexpensive ($50-100) spot meter. This is a requirment for one of my classes, as well as a must if I ever actually become a cinematographer. Just curious for any suggestions or anyone who may be unloading an old meter.

Thank u;
jack1305

#2 Jonathan Bowerbank

Jonathan Bowerbank
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2815 posts
  • 1st Assistant Camera
  • San Francisco, CA

Posted 02 September 2007 - 11:34 PM

I'd watch this one on eBay:

http://cgi.ebay.com/...1QQcmdZViewItem

Interesting that it's a requirement. Does it HAVE to be a spot meter? Or is incident fine as well?

#3 Brian Rose

Brian Rose
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 896 posts
  • Student
  • Kansas City area

Posted 03 September 2007 - 11:02 AM

I'm afraid you may have a tough time getting a spot meter for fifty to a hundred dollars. That ebay auction sent by Jonathan is a good start, but don't be surprised if the price shoots up toward the end. Actually, I just bought an identical model spot meter not too long ago for $165.00. Even that was a steal, compared to where I've seen one of those go for elsewhere, like at KEH (upwards of $200).

And in my opinion, if there is one thing you don't want to scrimp on, it's a light meter. Suppose you get a cheap meter, and you use it on your production. You might get lucky, and your meter is more or less accurate. But what if it isn't and all the footage you shot comes back from the lab under or overexposed? What then? You will discover that the small amount you saved on the meter will quickly disappear as you pay for all the added costs of reshooting your footage. What's worse, you're stuck with a light meter that at BEST will need servicing, and at WORST is a piece of junk. Are you sure you want to take that risk?