#1 James Steven Beverly

James Steven Beverly
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4199 posts
  • Director
  • El Paso, Texas

Posted 09 September 2007 - 04:50 AM

Mister Case, Sir, Is your 1997 version of Film Technology in Post Production still valid or should I hold off and get the newer edition? B)

#2 K Borowski

K Borowski
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3905 posts
  • Camera Operator
  • I.A.T.S.E. Local # 600 Eastern Region

Posted 13 September 2007 - 01:48 PM

Well, keeping in mind I am only a very well-educated amateur, you have the same technology as you did in 1997, but there are obvioulsy much greater utilizations of 2K digital scanning than there were then, and have been significant improvements in scanner speed.

Really, as far as scanning goes, I can get a scanner made in 1994 (keep in mind this is for non-cine negatives, cine scanners are better, faster, and cost disproportionally more) that is, in almost all ways, better than the most high-end Nikon film scanner made today. The Nikon will probably scan in 1/10 of the time though.

The only improvements that I am aware of between 1997 and now in the actual technology of ECN-2 and ECP stocks are double electron sensitization in 2002, improvements in the durability of film support base and sprocket holes, an almost total transition to Estar print stock (I don't believe this transition really hit full speed until around '98), and metricization of chemistry sizes here in the US.

Most of this stuff is signifacant in theory, but makes no practical difference from the standpoint of laboratory production or film photography.

All of the advancements that are of any significant interest to you are in the digital realm, which may by virtue of the fact that you have a film lab make them insignifacant to you ;-)