#1 JASON GORDON

JASON GORDON

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 13 September 2007 - 11:12 PM

Hello all fellow film makers my name is Jason I am a recent film student and am in the process of getting production together for a reality series pilot. I am interested if anyone has any suggestions/experience with capturing sound in a room using a hidden camera. Think of situations in a room like on THE REAL WORLD ON MTV i want to have hidden cams setup and be able to hear what is going on , I am shooting this in NEWPORT BEACH in ORANGE COUNTY and have no experience in this department of hidden camera sound techniques, I would be interested in someone who could offer their services as well if interested in jumping onboard there is a budget so there would be pay involved, Also i am well aware that this is a sound forum but i am also interested in anyone with experience with hidden cams as well ,or suggestions of cameras to use and rental houses either in OC or LA . thanks !

#2 Freya Black

Freya Black
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4161 posts
  • Other
  • Went over the edge... Central Europe

Posted 15 September 2007 - 02:42 PM

It's not clear to me to what extent you will have control over positioning of mics etc in the room but basically I'm guessing you will have to use some kind of omnidirectional mic. I expect the best thing might be an omnidirectional lav mic. They are tiny cheap and easily hidden. You could run a couple of these to different parts of the room to try and pick up more of the person as they move around perhaps. I'm not sure how big your room is or how it is furnished which will probably affect the kind of solution you need to resort to.

Obviously the sound quality from an omni will be quite different from conventional movie shotgun mikes with tight polar pattens so you might need to consider this kind of thing as well. An omni mic will pick up a lot more room tone etc.

love

Freya

#3 Freya Black