#1 Dyaln Funk

Dyaln Funk

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Other

Posted 23 September 2007 - 10:47 PM

I am a former marketing manager turned yoga instructor. My dream is to eventually earn a livable wage teaching yoga, so I am planning to produce a series of four yoga videos. I have a geat deal of experience in web, branding and online marketing, however this will be my first film project. My budget is quite small, as I'm now earning a yoga instructors wage which is, well....not alot.

I am planning to post wanted ads on Mandy, Craiglist and Here. But before I do I would like some feedback/advice from you guys.

I spoke to one guy in miami who quoted me 8K per video. Ouch! I felt that was way too much.
I spoke to another guy who quoted me 1K per video - much more affordable. His reel looks a bit to film schooly - not really any strong experience.

From my research I think that I should be able to get:

Equipment (two High Def cameras, lighting, jib, dollly, grip, mics) - 1K per day
Highly Experienced Cameraman (DP?)- $500 per day (2 days)
Assistant Cameraman (AC?)- $250 per day (2 days)
Post Production Editing and DVD Authoring - $1200-2400
Studio - $250 to $1000 per day depending on location and quality of studio (2 days)

Total Budget = 6-7K

I want to produce four videos - each containing 1-60minute and 1-30minute yoga sequence (just me - no students in video). Each video will also include a five minute intro/interview where I talk to the folks. Want simple set, dramatic lighting.

I think that it would probably take 2 days of filming. I teach 20 hours a week and am comfortable on camera, so I'm well practiced and do not antcipate the need for lots of shoot time/retakes. There will be a need for some post production editing because they will need to cut in different shots/angles.