2 replies to this topic

#1 Alex Worster

Alex Worster
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 113 posts
  • Film Loader

Posted 02 October 2007 - 01:40 AM

I'm in pre pre-production on a short that I will be shooting and possibly directing sometime in the not so distant future and I had a couple questions about tests. This will be my first time shooting tests for anything as I'm pretty new to cinematography, hopefully I don't sound too green. I will probably be shooting on Kodak and am guessing I will be using 7218, 7229, or 7205 (or maybe a combination). My short is a period piece, 19th century America (history geeky I know, but I like the story) and takes place in 2 locations... 1. a lightly wooded forest on an overcast day (think Miller's Crossing or New world) and 2. a dimly lantern lit cabin interior.

Getting to the point I thought I'd shoot some stock and filter tests because I'm going for some specific looks for the film. A grey muted slightly monochromatic low contrast look for the forest and a warm but dark/contrasty look for the interior. Here's what I thought I'd do... get a test roll of each stock and shoot a wide and medium/close shot of each location with stand ins wearing similar color clothing varying my exposure (and filtration) from normal, 1/3, 1/2, 2/3, 1, and 2 stops under and over just to see what I get.

Here is the catch I don't know exactly where I will be processing or transferring for the real deal nor will I have access to the same camera lens combo I will end up shooting with. I was planning on shooting the tests on my schools NPRs to save some money and just going to the local lab for a quick turn around. I know it is best to control as many variables as possible when shooting tests so do these limitations make my tests worthless or next to it?