#1 Daniel Katz

Daniel Katz
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • New York

Posted 03 October 2007 - 06:30 PM

I just saw this film yesterday. Lots of great touches but I think Wes Anderson needs to reinvent himeslf or he will be remembered as a one trick pony. Anyway, his films obviously have a very distinctive style lensed by Robert Yeoman but I am interested who does the operating. Is it Yeoman himself? Imdb lists Manuel Billeter as the New York operator. There are a number of extremely precise whip pans and some tilts of usually 90 degrees that land on perfect compositions and it seems that they could only be done with a geared head. I have some experience with geared heads and I'm just wondering what technique the operator may have used to to achieve such precise moves. Thanks in advance.

#2 Jonathan Bowerbank

Jonathan Bowerbank
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2815 posts
  • 1st Assistant Camera
  • San Francisco, CA

Posted 03 October 2007 - 07:06 PM

The only review I've heard about it was from the "(blank) & Roeper" show. The non-Roeper guy made a good point that it's as if Anderson is now able to do a good parody of his own work. Where if you're so familiar with his previous films, this one will just be more of the same and not too impressive.

I for one love the style, and am excited to see the film. But I can see how he would form that sort of opinion.

I seem to recall Yeoman doing the operating himself in the DVD extras of "The Life Aquatic", have a look at those 'making-ofs' and it'll probably answer your question.

#3 Logan Schneider

Logan Schneider
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 133 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Bozeman, MT

Posted 06 October 2007 - 05:27 PM

With a geared head you can count the rotations of the wheels in order to return to the same frame, allowing precise finishes. For example, 2 and 1/2 wheel turns when he stands up...

#4 Daniel Katz

Daniel Katz
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts