#1 chas whatmore

chas whatmore

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Student

Posted 11 October 2007 - 10:21 AM

Hi im new to this and pretty much to cinematography- the film that has really inspired me is children of men.
i am doing a study this year of some aspect of cinematography and was wondering if anyone knew of any modern original cinematography or if the majority of techniques used are borrowed from the earlier years of cinema?any help would be appreciated.

#2 Michael Lehnert

Michael Lehnert
  • Sustaining Members
  • 1086 posts
  • Other
  • London, UK / Basel, CH

Posted 11 October 2007 - 12:35 PM

Hello Chas, welcome to cinematography.com.

To throw in some thoughts on your question that might be helpful (please correct me if I misunderstood your original post):

Any language and rethoric, verbally or visually, invents, develops, draws upon, revolutionises, and evolves. Often all at once. That is what makes it "alive". So establishing distinctions of 'originality' on one hand or 'direct immediate influence/borrowing/copycating' on the other are difficult. You will find that this is not how art-making works. Although some directors/cinematographer/duos have "signatures", new and original techniques, there is still a clear-clut, or more feable, or mere philosophical, (un)conscious inspiration that can be traced to previous historic filmmaking effort...

An example: Wong Kar-Wai and Christopher Doyle's early films are original pieces, but they also show inspiration from anything like the Nouvelle Vague to films by Shohei Imamura or Nagisa Oshima to even Straub-Huillet or some Japanese Animes (esp. frame composition and in-frame movement of protagonists), especially in their later, more sedate films.

There is a thread in the 'Lighting' sub-forum that debates the concepts of 'Inspiration', 'Category' and 'Influence' with Nouvelle Vague, Cinéma Vérité and Direct Cinema. Check it out - plenty of names and leads there.