#1 Alan Brown

Alan Brown
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts
  • Student
  • London

Posted 13 October 2007 - 02:29 PM

I'm currently a film school student (who has shot mostly video) and I've just purchased a Canon 1014XL-S and a cartridge of Ektachrome 64T (I have negative stock on order from Pro8mm) to learn more about film and latitiude. I'm intending to shoot the 64T outdoors. Thing is, I'm not sure how to set the Canon up to shoot this film. I've tried to research this but have gotten conflicting information. I've heard that the 64T cartridge doesn't engage the Canon's 85 filter when inserted (at this point I wouldn't know how to switch the filter on or off), and I've also been told the 85 filter would be of no use anyway as 64T requires an 85B.

Can anyone tell me how to set up the camera to shoot 64T outdoors?

Much appreciated

#2 Giles Perkins

Giles Perkins
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts

Posted 13 October 2007 - 03:55 PM

It's a matter of preference - some will just shoot and set the camera to the daylight setting without any other external filter - some prefer to use just an external filter and shoot it as tungsten (indoor setting) - with the filter warming the image.

See - http://onsuper8.blog...-to-filter.html

Hope it helps rather than confuses!

Why not shoot some with, some without and see what you prefer?

#3 Michael Lehnert

Michael Lehnert
  • Sustaining Members
  • 1086 posts
  • Other
  • London, UK / Basel, CH

Posted 14 October 2007 - 12:47 AM

Welcome to Super 8 and cinematography.com, Alan. Alot is repetitive stuff that you already know, but just to give a comprehensive review for others while I am typing...

As a simple professional rule (outside of filtering fx experiments):

- Tungsten (indoor / T) colour film requires an amber-coloured Wratten 85 filter when used outdoors.
- Daylight (outdoor / D) colour film requires a blue-coloured Wratten 80 filter when used indoors.