David Bid

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • 1st Assistant Camera
  • London, UK

Posted 07 November 2007 - 04:50 PM

Hi i am a student and i have been asked to light a night club scene, i am shooting on Kodak 500T 7218,
We are currently shooting in a small but up market bar, with DJ booth, as we are not looking for a packed rave club, but a more relaxed feeling

I think this is a good move as the clubs we looked at have alot of mirrors, and low ceiling? and there a 13 different shot, with moving steady cam. is this a good move?

The colours are rich, with a dark wood bar, and alot of orange and reds. Im thinking that i should try and stay on this theme and work with what is there. Though i would like to add some harsher whites and blues, so its not too relaxing in there?

In the bar there is a small stage, with a Scaff bar, i though would be good to rig lights on, (smaller 300 and 650) and i was going to try and get hold of a dimmer/ flicker boards. To help with the effect. I was also thinking of getting a Strobe light as well to add, are there any problems that i will find on film, and is there more for me to consider?

Should i possible get some cheaper moving disco lights?

Also i think that i will get a smoke machine, and i have read some other comments on similar questions

we are trying make sure we have plenty of people, though extras can be some what hard to find when it actually comes to the day

Any helpful points would be greatly appreciated, as i am aware that i is hard to do night club scenes, effectively!
I would be intrested in anyways you have tried to do similar shoots?

best wishes David Bird

#2 Adrian Sierkowski

Adrian Sierkowski
  • Sustaining Members
  • 7117 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles, Ca

Posted 07 November 2007 - 05:30 PM

I woudl be careful about mirros as you get a lot of lights in them and might catch the camera. Could be a problem. Try frosting them if you'd like could be for an interesting effect.