Chainsaw blood splatter

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Buddy Greenfield

Buddy Greenfield
  • Guests

Posted 29 November 2007 - 09:04 PM

Can someone please offer their thoughts or proven approach to an inexpensive, but realistic blood splatter (on a wall) as if a chainsaw were used on a victim?

My initial thought is a large well soaked paint brush flicked so as to cause a splatter, but I don't know.

Ideally I would like to try one of those old standard shots of the shadow of victim and killer as the killer lowers a chainsaw, then splatter the blood onto the wall in their cast shadow.

#2 Michael Nash

Michael Nash
  • Sustaining Members
  • 3330 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Pasadena, CA

Posted 29 November 2007 - 09:45 PM

I'm not an effects expert but I think you're going to have to experiment with several techniques to see what works best with the viscosity of blood you're using, and which technique will allow you a degree of control (finer/coarser, more/less) on the day. If you've ever worked with paint, stain or varnish you'll know that there's no such thing as a one-size-fits-all approach, and any artistic endeavor requires some degree of manual control.

Every blood effect I've witnessed on set has used different techniques, often for the same effect. You might consider different brushes or even a syringe or turkey baster (again, I'm not an FX guy).

#3 James Steven Beverly

James Steven Beverly
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4199 posts
  • Director
  • El Paso, Texas

Posted 29 November 2007 - 11:51 PM

Actually a paintbrush would probably work, 'course you'll probably want a continuous spattering of blood as long as the chainsaw's cutting up the victim mixed with bloody bits of bone, flesh, skin and hair also flung onto the wall. :D