#1 Alexander Disenhof

Alexander Disenhof
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 86 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles, CA

Posted 01 December 2007 - 08:58 PM

I am a student at Emerson College in Boston, and I was walking down the street tonight and saw the new film "The Lonely Maiden" (I think thats what its called) starring Christopher Walken and Morgan Freeman shooting. Naturally, I was interested in the light units they were using, and so I talked to the 3rd electrician. I asked about a light about 200 yards away, which looked something like a 12K HMI or something of the sort. Instead, he told me it was a tungston unit, and said that one should not use HMI's at night, because they are only for simulating daylight. To make a long story short, I would have thought that using HMI's at night could be a good way to get the blue light usually associated with the moon. Am I wrong here? Is it just a no-no to use HMI's at night, even for a blue rimlight or something? Or, if they are used at night, what are some of their common uses?

#2 Michael Nash

Michael Nash
  • Sustaining Members
  • 3330 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Pasadena, CA

Posted 01 December 2007 - 09:49 PM

There's no right or wrong here, and that electrician's statement was pretty broad. Not necessarily wrong, just broad.

People use HMI's at night all the time, specifically for the blue-tint you mentioned. But if you want some color other than blue, it doesn't always make sense to start from a color temp of 5600 and add gels to that. For example, if you're trying to match or fill-in sodium vapor street lights you'd usually want to start with tungsten light and gel that, rather than heavily gel a blue source to get orange. And many people use a color temperature of about 4300 for moonlight, which can be achieved by 1/2 CTO on an HMI or 1/2 CTB on tungsten. It just depends on the units you prefer to use, power, and so on.