New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Other
  • Southern CA

Posted 06 December 2007 - 09:23 PM

Hello filmmakers.

I am interested in getting into the film making industry, and in need of some guidance. A little bit about myself; i am a professional photographer, shooting editorial and commercial work. You can see my work here: http://www.jhophotography.com/

My question is, and i am sure this has come up a lot on this forum, but should i go to film school, or just take the intern/ assistant route? I have shot some people in the film making world, and thought why not just network, and see where i can possibly get an internship, or an assistant job. I am shooting Allan Loeb next week http://imdb.com/find...e...p;x=21&y=11 , we are going to shoot on the set of a pilot he is producing, and was just going to ask if an internship is open, or any kind of assisting job. I am interested in cinematography and possibly producing films.

Another option is going to school, I am considering attending the LA Film school. Has any of you attended that school? Or have any comments on other schools around the LA area?

Really appreciate all of your inputs!

Jon h0

#2 Adrian Sierkowski

Adrian Sierkowski
  • Sustaining Members
  • 7117 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles, Ca

Posted 06 December 2007 - 10:41 PM

I started when I was 10 working with my dad before he passes doing local shoots, commercial/industrial/studio, mostly on video and some on film here and again. Then I went to film school, which I finished (BA Temple University, this year) and I'm finishing a BA in Anthropology.
it's really only a question you can answer for you. Both have benefits and drawbacks. If you can combine the two, IMHO, you're probably set.