Matthew Novak

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • NJ, NY

Posted 07 December 2007 - 11:30 AM

Hi, I'm a film student at NYU and I'm writing a paper on digital and film capture technologies. Bellow I?ve listed a few questions on topics my paper will cover. A response to any question would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Matt

I'm looking to hear what people think the effects of students being taught solely on video cameras will be on these future DPs (good and bad). Will this have an effect on the art of cinematography down the line?

Do you think RED will have an affect on Panavision and Arri?s digital motion picture cameras?

Do you find more productions are going to digital for cost reasons or as an aesthetic choice?

What are the major problems with the digital workflow?

Has the improvement in film stocks and the design of new S16 cameras and lenses caused a renaissance in the small film format? Has S16 become a challenger to 2/3 inch cameras or even full frame sensors? [/sub]

#2 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19759 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 07 December 2007 - 12:54 PM

I'm looking to hear what people think the effects of students being taught solely on video cameras will be on these future DPs (good and bad). Will this have an effect on the art of cinematography down the line?

Not so much the art per se -- many of those issues lay beyond the capture format issues, things like composition, movement, etc. It will have an effect on their ability to shoot film jobs though until they learn that independently. Film will still be around when they graduate in three years. Plus the history of the art form is bound up in photochemical technology, so they should be learning it.

Do you think RED will have an affect on Panavision and Arri?s digital motion picture cameras?