Andre LeBlanc
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Other
  • Los Angeles

Posted 09 December 2007 - 08:34 PM

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to the Mac world, and have been trying to use Final Cut Pro suite to create a down-converted letter-boxed SD-DVD from my DVCPRO 720p footage. Current work-flow was to import my final HD movie into Compressor, and export a file using the MPEG-2 preset for SD-DVD. From there, I've been using DVD Studio Pro to export to DVD. The final DVD is letter-boxed, but looks stretched, and the sides of the image are still slightly cropped.

Anyone have experience exporting an HD file from FCP to an SD DVD? Any help is greatly appreciated!

#2 Walter Graff

Walter Graff
  • Sustaining Members
  • 1334 posts
  • Other
  • New York City

Posted 09 December 2007 - 09:04 PM

Skip one step. Forget compressor. Not necessary and DVD studio pro has a better render engine. Render your timeline in FCP. Then export/quicktime movie and use the same settings as the timeline. Import that file to DVD Studio Pro. Make your menu and point to this track which you imported. Make sure to click "16x9 pan scan letter box" for both your menu and your video file in the "display mode" option in the inspector so your DVD knows what to do depending on your monitor. Make your DVD.

#3 Andre LeBlanc

Andre LeBlanc
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Other
  • Los Angeles

Posted 10 December 2007 - 02:32 AM