Photo

Self-Taught Cinematographer - rip me a new one! :)

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Earl Newton

Earl Newton

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Producer

Posted 19 December 2007 - 04:40 PM

Hey there folks -

I'm Earl, I've been lurking on the site for awhile, and really appreciate the amount of great information from everyone.

Be assured that I will be stealing from all of you. :)

I came up as a writer originally, evolved into producing my own work, and now do a sci-fi series on the Internet that I shoot/edit/bleed for/etc.

I'm posting this sample because I'd really like to get some thoughts on how I can improve my cinematography. There is a certain quality missing in what I'm doing right now, and I can't peg what it is, but I'm pretty sure the folks here can give me some good tips. :)

This might move a bit fast, but it'll give a good sample of my work overall (a few shots were done by another up-and-coming DP, but by-and-large those are me).

Thanks for your time, and thanks again for this terrific site -
Earl Newton

#2 Earl Newton

Earl Newton

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Producer

Posted 26 December 2007 - 12:52 AM

No, seriously.

#3 Brian Dzyak

Brian Dzyak
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1517 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Encino, California USA

Posted 26 December 2007 - 12:59 AM

I thought it mostly looked fine. There are a couple of day exterior shots that I wasn't too thrilled with. The highlights were blown out and there wasn't much in terms of controlling the light as far as I could see. Those day exterior shots felt like a home-movie shot with a VHS for some reason. Could be the frame rate too.

Video can look very good, you just have to remember to expose for the highlights so they don't blow out (unless you want them too, of course) and then bring up your shadows so you don't lose all information you want to see.